Galapagos Penguin Spheniscus mendiculus

  • Order: Sphenisciformes
  • Family: Spheniscidae
  • Monotypic
  • Authors: Annica Lila Carlson and Jens Steven Townsdin


Geographic Variation


Related Species

The Galapagos Penguin belongs to the genus Spheniscus; the three other members of this genus are the Magellanic Penguin (Sphenicus magellanicus) and the Humboldt Penguin (Spheniscus humboldti) of South America, and the Jackass Penguin (Spheniscus demersus) of South Africa. Phylogenetic analysis of DNA sequence data, from both mitochondrial and nuclear genes, confirms the monophyly of Spheniscus, and identify Spheniscus as the sister genus to Eudyptula, of Australia, New Zealand, and the Chatham Islands (Baker et al. 2006). Within Spheniscus, mendiculus is the sister to humboldti, and magellanicus is sister to demersus (Baker et al. 2006).

Recommended Citation

Carlson, A. L. and J. S. Townsdin (2012). Galapagos Penguin (Spheniscus mendiculus), version 1.0. In Neotropical Birds Online (T. S. Schulenberg, Editor). Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Ithaca, NY, USA.